|
#1
|
|||
|
|||
|
Hi just a quick question.
I've been going through the "free ways to generate traffic" section in the workshop. I have been going through your list of link directories and submitting my url. I got half way through the list and was then advised to leave it for a week and then continue submitting rather than submitting to all directories in one go. Is this correct? and if so what is the benefit of dragging the submissions out rather than in one go? Surely it is best to get your url out there as soon as possible isn't it? Thanks |
|
#2
|
||||
|
||||
|
Hi
The main reason behind it is that if you build too many backlinks at once then Google will just assume that you are spamming and that will have a negative effect on your site. Ideally, you want to try and make the growth as natural seeming as possible to avoid any penalties like that I saw that you have a few sales going through your account - is there anything else that I can help you with to increase these? Thanks Dave
__________________
David Sharpe - HighProfits Affiliate Program Evil Overlord ![]() Email: dave@highprofits.com |
|
#3
|
|||
|
|||
|
Thanks for the reply Dave,
I didn't really think about the spamming side of things. Pretty simple really. I'm also a little confused with the social bookmarking. Jonny had suggested a tool to a member in the "affiliate websites - Affiliate marketing resources" forum. The tool was http://www.socialmarker.com. I tried this out and it seemed like i had to write a type of article on the first site and then not on another. Obviously sites vary from eachother but what is the general practice of submitting a bookmark? I thought it would be just entering my url and description, a little like the link directories but it didnt seem that way when trying it out. Have i just got this all wrong? Hope this isnt too confusing for you. If it is then i shall try and explain myself a little better. A WARNING for the highprofits team and members. Whilst using http://www.socialmarker.com tool i tried logging into a site ( think it may have been diggit.com) using my facebook login details. Whilst doing this i had major warnings that my computer was under attack by 400 or so trojans and i need to run a program straight away. I didnt do this as it looked dodgy like it was trying to get me to download something that would be harmful. I did a full scan of my computer with my norton security and that informed me that several intrusion attempts had been detected and blocked. Thankfully my computer is ok but i think it could have been a different story if i had run the program it was asking me to do. I'm not defo sure it was the socialmarker tool that started this but it may be worth just staying clear of it, im not sure. You may know more about this tool yourselves. Cheers |
|
#4
|
||||
|
||||
|
This is quite alarming, can you give us specific details of what you did on the site please?
I didn't know any software was required to do the social bookmarking, did you click on any banners or links by accident perhaps?
__________________
SEO Company |
|
#5
|
|||
|
|||
|
I went to socialmarker.com and entered my bookmark details. It asks you below that to select which social bookmarking sites you would like to submit to, so i just selected them all. However i have since realised that i should have just porobably selected bookmarking.
When you press submit all your bookmarking details are in a task bar in certain fields at the bottom of the page for you to drag and drop. You then click through the different sites you selected at the start and supposedly drag and drop your info into the relevent sections of each site. Since looking at socialmarker.com again i think i got the site name wrong in my last post, i think it was digg.com where i began to get the security mesages flashing at me. You dont need to download any software to do the drag and dropping. It was the security alert trying to get me to download/run something. Any case this file to download/run was not certified to be safe and so i didnt continue and i think my Norton had sorted things out for me. I'm not sure of any links i clicked on at that time, sorry. Last edited by Frenchtoast; 06-22-2009 at 07:33 PM. |
|
#6
|
||||
|
||||
|
Ah so it was some clever banner masquerading as a warning message?
Some flash banners even get your computer details and say there's a virus on your computer. When you download and buy their software the virus will be gone they say but actually you're installing a brand new virus! BEWARE
__________________
SEO Company |
|
#7
|
|||
|
|||
|
yeh thats what i thought may be happening so i didnt go through with the download. Just thought i'd let you all know in case people get the same thing.
|
![]() |

| Tags |
| link directories, links |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|